ITOS Mass Screening -
Automated Acquisition and Automated Diagnosis of
Diabetic Retinopathy.

 

DIABETIC RETINOPATHY

In Germany, all 4 hours one diabetic goes blind. In Mexico, every hour one diabetic goes blind. This blindness is avoidable. The diabetic retinopathy as sequelae of diabetes often leads to blindness when not recognized and treated early. Diabetic retinopathy occurs worldwide with increasing frequency. It is progressively taking on the character of a common disease. Its early recognition and treatment are becoming an important emphasis in the global healthcare. Unrecognized and untreated, diabetic retinopathy can lead to blindness, which severely restricts the lives of those afflicted and incurs high financial burdens.

 

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

With Voigtmann GmbH’s “Integrated Tele-Ophthalmological System ITOS”, mass screenings for the early recognition of diabetic retinopathy can be automated. ITOS is a cost-efficient and effective procedure, which can be carried out without the involvement of medical professionals. In distributed screening stations, the fundus photographs of patients are acquired and analysed automatically. When indications of diabetic retinopathy are found, the patient is referred to an ophthalmologic centre. This allows for decentral identification of the few patients in need of ophthalmological treatment out of a much larger risk group.

 

ITOS Mass Screening System

 

25 000 PATIENTS PER YEAR

With one system and proper organization, about 100 to 120 patients can be examined per day, amounting to approximately 25,000 examinations per year. ITOS screening stations can be installed everywhere at the same time. Even a decentral operation at widespread, distributed locations in remote areas is possible. This offers the chance to reach high-risk patients with no or only insufficient access to medical care and provide them with adequate ophthalmological treatment.Conventional screening procedures with specialists or especially trained “graders” evaluating the fundus images for symptoms of a disease are limited for mass screenings as they require a high level of staffing and specialist qualifications.

 

ITOS APPLICATION SOFTWARE SYSTEM

The screening stations are equipped with the ITOS application software system. It comprises components for patient management, fundus imaging and the automated analysis of fundus images. The acquisition and storage of the fundus images are managed by the ITOS application software system. The analysis of images comprehends two steps. In a first step, the image quality of the fundus image is evaluated. If the image quality is sufficient, the second step is carried out. It includes the identification of features in the fundus image, which point to diabetic retinopathy. For this purpose, a special algorithm is used.

 

Grafik

Schematic of the process of mass screening with ITOS: In decentral screening stations occupied with non-medical personnel, the patients of a risk group who require medical treatment are identified. Only these are then forwarded to an ophthalmologic centre. 

 

COMPANY PROFILE

The German company Voigtmann GmbH develops and markets complete solutions and services for mass screenings in the field of ophthalmology, especially for the automated early recognition of diabetic retinopathy. Founded in 2005, Voigtmann GmbH is an owner-run, medium-size, ISO 9001 and ISO 13485 certified IT system house that develops and operates individual software and IT solutions. From 2010 on, two ophthalmology projects within the BMBF Federal Ministry of Education and Research cluster of excellence were the focus of development in close collaboration with institutes of the University Erlangen-Nuremberg and further partners. Results are various patent applications and the basis for the development of the “Integrated Tele-Ophthalmological System ITOS”.

ITOS Mass Screening -
Automatisierte Erfassung und Automatisierte Diagnose von
Diabetischer Retinopathie

 

DIABETISCHE RETINOPATHIE

In Deutschland erblindet alle 4 Stunden ein Diabetiker. Diese Erblindungen sind vermeidbar. Diabetische Retinopathie als Folgeerkrankung von Diabetes führt oft zur Erblindung, falls sie nicht frühzeitig erkannt und therapiert wird. Diabetische Retinopathie tritt weltweit mit steigender Häufigkeit auf. Sie nimmt zunehmend den Charakter einer Volkskrankheit an. Ihre frühzeitige Erkennung und Therapie entwickeln sich zu einem Schwerpunkt im weltweiten Gesundheitssystem. Unerkannt und unbehandelt kann diabetische Retinopathie zu Erblindung führen, die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen erheblich einschränken und hohe finanzielle Belastungen mit sich bringen.

 

PRODUKTBESCHREIBUNG 

Mit dem “Integrierten Tele-Ophthalmologischen System ITOS“ der Voigtmann GmbH können Reihenuntersuchungen zur frühzeitigen Erkennung der diabetischen Retinopathie automatisiert werden. ITOS ist ein kosteneffizientes und effektives System, dass ohne Beteiligung von medizinischem Fachpersonal auskommt. In verteilten Untersuchungsstationen werden Fundusfotografien von Patienten automatisch aufgenommen und analysiert. Falls Anzeichen einer diabetischen Retinopathie gefunden werden, wird der Patient an ein augenärztliches Zentrum verwiesen. Dadurch wird es möglich, nur die Patienten aus einer größeren Risikogruppe dezentral zu identifizieren, die eine augenärztliche Behandlung benötigen.

 

ITOS Mass Screening System

 

25 000 PATIENTEN PRO JAHR

Mit einem System und guter Organisation können pro Tag 100 bis 120 Patienten oder pro Jahr 25 000 Patienten untersucht werden. Da die Zahl der ITOS Screening-Stationen skalierbar ist, können viele Untersuchungen gleichzeitig durchgeführt werden. Auch ein dezentraler Betrieb an weit verteilten, möglicherweise abgelegenen Orten ist möglich. Das bietet die Chance, Risikopatienten zu erreichen, die keinen oder nur unzureichenden Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung haben. Konventionelle Verfahren, bei denen Fachleute oder speziell ausgebildete „Grader“ Fundusaufnahmen auf der Suche nach Symptomen einer Krankheit begutachten, sind für Reihenuntersuchungen ungeeignet, da dies einen hohen Aufwand von Personal mit Spezialqualifikationen bedeutet.

 

ITOS ANWENDUNGSSYSTEM

Die Screening-Stationen sind mit dem ITOS Anwendungssystem ausgestattet. Es beinhaltet Komponenten zur Patientenverwaltung, Fundusaufnahme und zur automatisierten Analyse der Fundusbilder. Die Aufnahme und Speicherung der Fundusfotografien werden vom ITOS Anwendungssystem verwaltet. Die Analyse der Bilder umfasst zwei Schritte. In einem ersten Schritt wird die Bildqualität beurteilt. Wenn die Bildqualität ausreichend ist, wird der zweite Schritt ausgeführt. Er umfasst die Identifikation von Merkmalen im Fundusbild die auf eine diabetische Retinopathie hinweisen. Dazu wird ein spezieller Algorithmus verwendet.

 

Grafik

Schematische Darstellung des Verfahrens zur Reihenuntersuchung mit ITOS: In dezentralen, nur mit nichtmedizinischem Personal besetzten Screening-Stationen werden aus einer Risikogruppe diejenigen Patienten mit Therapiebedarf identifiziert. Nur diese werden anschließend an eine ophthalmologische Klinik verwiesen.

 

UNTERNEHMENSPROFIL

Das deutsche Unternehmen Voigtmann GmbH entwickelt und vermarktet Komplettlösungen und Dienstleistungen zur Reihenuntersuchung auf dem Gebiet der Ophthalmologie, insbesondere zur automatischen Erkennung der diabetischen Retinopathie. Im Jahr 2005 gegründet, ist Voigtmann GmbH ein inhabergeführtes, mittelständiges, ISO 9001 und ISO 13485 zertifiziertes IT Systemhaus, welches individuelle Software und IT Lösungen entwickelt und betreibt. Beginnend ab 2010, standen zwei Ophthalmologie-Projekte innerhalb des BMBF Spitzenclusters Medical Valley EMN in Zusammenarbeit mit Instituten der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und weiteren Partnern im Fokus der Entwicklung. Die Aktivitäten resultierten in verschiedenen Patentanmeldungen und schufen die Grundlage für die Entwicklung des „Integrierten Tele-Ophthalmologischen Systems ITOS“